4th CSPCWG MEETING Monaco, 13-15 November 2007

Paper for Consideration by CSPCWG

Election of Officers

Submitted by: Secretary

Executive Summary: The Terms of Reference require the election of officers of the

CSPCWG following the recent Ordinary IH Conference

Related Documents: CSPCWG Terms of Reference

CSPCWG Letter 10/2007

Related Projects: None

Introduction / Background

CSPCWG Terms of Reference, sub-paragraph 4c (as posted on IHO Website) states:

The Chair and Vice-Chair shall be a representative of a Member State. The election of the Chair and Vice-Chair shall be decided at the first meeting after each ordinary session of the Conference and shall be determined by vote of the Member States present and voting.

Consequently, in the letter of invitation to CSPCWG4, the current chairman wrote:

Please consider whether you wish to put your name forward for the role of chairman or vice-chairman. Please indicate on the response form at Annex D. For information, I am prepared to continue as Chairman (with Andrew as Secretary).

Analysis / Discussion

- The current Chairman has offered to continue in the role. No other candidates have been nominated or indicated a willingness to take on this role.
- The current Vice-Chairman (Jarmo Makkinen, Finland) has stated that, because of increasing responsibilities at the Finnish Maritime Administration, he will not continue as Vice-Chairman.
- No other individual has been nominated or indicated a willingness to take the role. However, the following message has been received from Australia:

AU nominates Peter JONES for re-election as Chairman and Andrew HEATH-COLEMAN for re-election as Secretary (if re-election is necessary?).

AU would like to be nominated as Vice-chairman of CSPCWG, but as Chris ROBERTS is likely to retire in April 2008, it is anticipated that his position will be filled as a priority. So the AUHO is nominated, rather than a person at this stage. It is highly probable that Jeff WOOTTON will take over the responsibilities of Chris on at least CSPCWG and TSMAD. Jeff has been a cartographer for 26 years and has been involved in both paper chart and ENC production for many years. He has held the position of Head of Chart Production and currently holds the position of Manager of Australian Charting Specifications. He is very familiar with both M-4 and S-57 and is also the coordinator of the TSMAD SubWg for ENC Encoding Bulletins and a member of the proposed IHO Hydrographic Register Control Body which will assess all proposals for new features for this register.

Conclusions

Unless any late nominations are received, Peter Jones will continue as Chairman, as the only available candidate.

The Terms of Reference do not allow for a country to be nominated as officer, only for representatives of MS (ie individuals). It therefore seems appropriate that Chris Roberts is elected as Vice Chairman for the present, with a further election process on his retirement. It may be considered that Jeff Wootton could be elected Vice Chairman now. However, as Chris is currently the AU member of the WG and the appointment of Jeff to the WG has not yet happened (it is only 'highly probable'), this would be premature.

The Terms of Reference state that:

A Secretary will be <u>appointed</u>, normally from within the organization of the Chairman of the WG, to ensure the smooth running of business, and to administer consultation and collation of members' views. The Secretary is a member of the WG.

There is therefore no requirement to elect a Secretary. Andrew Heath-Coleman will continue in the role, subject to WG Members approval.

Recommendations

n/a

Justification and Impacts

For the CSPCWG to act in accordance with its Terms of Reference in order to efficiently and effectively direct and progress its work.

Action required of CSPCWG

In the absence of any late nominations from CSPCWG4 attendees, the CSPCWG is invited to:

- endorse the continued roles of:
 - o Peter Jones (UK) as Chairman
 - o Andrew Heath-Coleman (UK) as Secretary
- approve Chris Roberts (AU) as Vice Chairman
- thank Jarmo Makinen (FI) for his contribution as Vice Chairman since 2003.