New Zealand's response to Yasuhiko Ohara's comments of 30 March 2016 on dual names

Agenda item: SCUFN29-05.2C

New Zealand acknowledges the comments of Yasuhiko Ohara and is grateful for the opportunity to discuss this matter further. Dual names do pose challenges for SCUFN. Different countries apply different rules for them. In New Zealand, dual names have been applied since the first written documents of the 1870s. New Zealand has a substantial number of dual names on land. The decision to apply them in the modern day context is not taken lightly by New Zealand's national naming authority.

The New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa (NZGB) currently has these undersea feature dual name proposals for SCUFN to Accept and Adopt through its fast track process:

- 1. Campbell Island / Motu Ihupuku Shelf
- 2. Puketuroto / Hoopers Canyon
- 3. Puketuroto / Hoopers Channel
- 4. Taitimu / Caswell Ridge
- 5. Whakaari / White Island Trough

IHO's B-6 Guidelines, 2013 refer:

- I.G.: In international programmes, it should be the policy to use forms of names applied by national authorities having responsibility for the pertinent area.
- II.A.3. The first choice of a specific term, where feasible, should be one associated with a geographical feature; e.g.: Aleutian Ridge, Mariana Trench, Barrow Canyon.
- Appendix 2.2 Reason for Choice of Name: Names should preferably be associated with a geographical feature.

All five are associated with land-based features, which meet B-6 criteria.

A 'dual name' is in fact a single string making up one whole name. Both parts of the name together are the full official name of the feature, and both parts have equal status. In New Zealand, they may not be used separately in official documents. These five dual name proposals are not considered by New Zealand's national naming authority to be particularly lengthy.

The NZGB has a legal function to collect and encourage the use of original Māori names. This honours the Crown's partnership with Māori established by the Treaty of Waitangi in 1840. The names above come from the associated land features that had original Māori names. The Māori part of the name is not a translation of the English name, or vice versa. The seafloor is considered to be part of New Zealand's land mass – just wet. And so 'where New Zealand goes our Māori names go' too.

The use of modern undersea sounding technologies did not begin until the mid-20th century. However, Māori legend tells of Te Pupu and Te Hoata travelling from Hawaiki to New Zealand beneath the sea in the form of fire (volcanoes). So Māori were certainly aware of undersea features many centuries before non-Māori arrived to settle in New Zealand, and before modern technologies 'discovered' them. Both Māori and non-Māori give undersea feature names.

Many undersea feature names that SCUFN has adopted are named in association with features on land. Some of these are long names and at least one appears to be a dual name, for example:

- Aconcagua Canyon named after Aconcagua River, Chile
- Ardencaple Seachannel named after the nearby Ardencaple Fjord, Greenland
- Daini-Kashima Seamount named from the nearby city of Kashima, Japan
- Gangneung Canyon named from the nearby city of Gangneung, South Korea
- Mendocino Fracture Zone named from the nearby locality, cape and county in California, USA
- Rio Grande do Norte Plateau named from the nearby state of Rio Grande do Norte, Brazil
- Stromboli Canyon named from the nearby island and volcano of Stromboli, Italy
- Terpenija Spur named from the nearby Terpenija Peninsula, Sakhalin Island, Russia

B-6's 'Short and simple specific terms are preferable' criteria is acknowledged. But for New Zealand's five dual name proposals, New Zealand requests that B-6's other criteria 'the first choice of a specific term, where feasible, should be one associated with a geographical feature' is applied.

To give some assurance to SCUFN, in the future any new undersea feature name proposals (ie those not formalising existing recorded names) the NZGB makes to SCUFN will not typically have dual names, unless they are associated with land-based dual names.

On behalf of the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa September 2016