

EASTERN ATLANTIC HYDROGRAPHIC COMMISSION COMMISSION HYDROGRAPHIQUE DE L'ATLANTIQUE ORIENTAL



INSTITUTO HIDROGRÁFICO DE LA MARINA Plaza de San Severiano, 3 11007 CADIZ, España Phone: +34 956 599416

Fax: +34 956 545347 E-mail: <u>ihmesp@fn.mde.es</u>

Cádiz, January 12nd 2017

EAtHC CIRCULAR LETTER № 01/2017 LETTRE CIRCULARE CHAtO № 01/2017

Subject:

Candidate Members from EAtHC to the IHO Council Membres candidats du CHAtO au Conseil de l'OHI

Dear colleagues, cher collègues:

In accordance with EAtHC Circular Letter 03/2016, and after the deadline is over, this IHM has received three official proposals from Members States who wish to be selected to the Council. These are (in English alphabetical order):

- Nigeria
- Portugal
- Spain

So, according to the Rules for the selection of EAtHC Member States to the IHO Council adopted at EAtHC-14 in October 2016, it is time to initiate the voting process. Allow me to remind you that the Directing Committee of the IHB (NOW IHO Secretariat) announced, through Circular Letter 63/16, that one Council seat had been allocated to the EAtHC. Paragraph 6.c. states "If the number of candidates is greater than the number of seats assigned to the EAtHC a vote will take place at a Conference of the EAtHC, or by correspondence if no EAtHC Conference is scheduled in the three months prior to an Assembly. Each Member State may submit one voting paper listing as many Member States from the list of candidates as seats have been assigned to the EAtHC. The result of a vote will only be valid if at least two thirds of all EAtHC Member States are present or have voted by correspondence in due time". Therefore each Member State should submit one voting paper from the list of candidates, i.e. vote for only one (1.-) country.

Consequently, we would really appreciate if you could cast a vote with just one Member State to be selected to the Council no later than the 31st of January 2017.

llen

Kind regards

Director of Instituto Hidrográfico de la Marina CHAtO Chairman

Captain Juan Antonio Aguilar Cavanillas